Question: Is the Romeo and Juliet law in Mississippi?

Mississippi has a close-in-age exemption. A close in age exemption, also known as Romeo and Juliet law, is designed to prevent the prosecution of underage couples who engage in consensual sex when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both are below the age of consent.

Can a 15 year old date a 18 year old in Mississippi?

People who are convicted of statutory rape and sexual battery are required to register as sex offenders in Mississippi unless the defendant is 18 years old (or younger) and the victim is 14 or 15 years old at the time of the offense.

Can a 19 year old date a 16 year old in MS?

Yes. Under the statutory rape, sexual battery, and fondling/molestation statutes, the age at which a person is legally able to consent to sexual activity in Mississippi is 16.

At what age can a child be left home alone in Mississippi?

12 Latchkey children age restrictions by stateStateMinimum age of home alone childReferenceMassachusettsNoneMassachusetts Trial Court Law LibrariesMichigan*11The Michigan Child Protection Law (Appendix 2)MinnesotaNoneDakota County, Minnesota Child SupervisionMississippi*12Mississippi State University46 more rows

Write us

Find us at the office

Barbre- Cust street no. 100, 71585 Mogadishu, Somalia

Give us a ring

Camisha Lagua
+77 184 445 878
Mon - Fri, 9:00-19:00

Reach out